This summer I am trying all kinds of new recipes during the boys’ nap time! Since they are from various sites and blogs I am compiling them here in one place.

To die for brownies:

I did exactly as is in the recipe, but I did not make the frosting, I did double it. Delicious brownies! My hubby doesn’t normally eat brownies and I caught him a few times enjoying the treats,

Best Brownies

For the 4th of July my husband made “Camp Stew.” It is an Alabama thing. He called his uncle for the recipe, to which there are nor specifics on Ingredients or measurements. I’ll have him give me the gist to post soon. I know it involves potatoes, chicken, pork, cream corn, lots of tomatoes, ketchup, worcestershire sauce among other things. It was amazing! Our guests all took home gallon freezer bags home to freeze and enjoy later (it makes A LOT..in a pot big enough to bathe our twins!).

20130709-131908.jpg

20130709-132111.jpg

20130709-132117.jpg

In addition to the stew I made a light refreshing drink found below. I had go make it twice as the first batch quickly disappeared! All I used was three cups of Publix Lemonade, one bottle of Champagne, and a handful of frozen blueberries. I served immediately over ice unfortunately I didn’t take any pics of it, but I am certainly making it again!

champagne lemonade

I also made a spinach artichoke dip. I only used one and a half cream cheese packs, as my husband misread my text while be was grocery shopping (I wrote spinach dip in parentheses followed by all the ingredients, which he bought one cream cheese and 2 packs of pre made spinach dip..silly hubs! There’s a man for you, not noting all details!). I did need to bake it for about 5 extra minutes. It was completely gone after our get together, so I’m thinking it was a big hit!
spinach artichoke dip

Moving onto dessert….
Apple Squares…
I made these for a play date. My friend took some home for her husband she loved them so much! I double the recipe and didn’t measure the apple. Just used two small red apples. I also omitted the nuts.
cinnamon apple squares

Croc pot BBQ chicken…. Ohhh yum. Yum, yum, yummy.

I thawed out chicken breasts (tenderloins really) and wanted to do something in the slow cooker. I cam across this treat. It was zesty and delicious!!! I used Sweet Baby Rays BBQ sauce (and not quite a whole bottle..just whatever I already had in the fridge). I made mini sliders out of these by baking the mini Pillsbury biscuits.
zesty slow cooker BBQ chicken

Florentine egg biscuit bake.
Brunch or breakfast for dinner. I made this one night and my mom asked for the recipes and has made it twice for her sisters dinner night. Really easy. You can also add bacon, sausage, onions, peppers, or whatever you fancy! Since there are only six muffin spots in my baking pan I made mini spinach pizzas with the extra spinach and cheese..they were pretty yummy.
florentine egg biscuit bake

20130709-135040.jpg

20130709-135047.jpg

Keep calm and keep cooking! I love my summers off!

